Five Crowns of Reward


Five Crowns of Reward

The Greek word "stéphanos" (Strong 4735) is used 18 times in the New Testament and is translated "crown." It is used to describe five rewards to the Christian:

1. The Crown of Life (Jam. 1:12; Rev. 2:10).

2. The Crown of Glory (1 Pet. 5:2-4).

3. The Crown of Rejoicing (1 Thess. 2:19,20).

4. The Crown of Righteousness (2 Tim. 2:8).

5. The Crown Incorruptible (1 Cor. 9:25-27).

Strong's definition: stéphanos; from an apparently primary stepho (to twine or wreathe); a chaplet (as a badge of royalty, a prize in the public games or a symbol of honor generally; but more conspicuous and elaborate than the simple fillet, NT:1238), literally or figuratively.

The other Greek word translated "crown" is didema (Strong NT:1238), from a compound of NT:1223 and NT:1210; a "diadem" (not really a crown, but a "filament of silk, linen, or some such thing tied around the head as a symbol of royal dignity"-The Complete Word Study Dictionary). There are three New Testament usages: Revelation 12:3, Revelation 13:1, Revelation 19:12.

2011 Disciple 155x50 2011 AMG 155x50
Disciple Banner Ad